Finished with Charles Manson, Full Steam Ahead!

February 6, 2007

I finished the sample piece of writing about Charles Manson today. It certainly has been a weary few days even though I have written many essays in the past. This particular assignment was not like any other I have ever taken on. I had to research the crimes that Manson was responsible for. During that process I have tried to maintain a fully detached way of looking at the entire story but it all got a little too much for me this evening when I ended up on the verge of tears. I had just read the court testimony for the death of Wojciech Frykowski who had been stabbed, bludgeoned and shot until he died in the Polanski’s home. Until that point in my investigation I had been able to be completely objective and then suddenly I realised what I was reading about, I realised just what the hell had happened to this people. They had been brutally slaughtered and I had been keeping it all under control…Interestingly I found it was much easier to write once I had this emotional release and realisation. I wonder why?

Writing this piece has opened my eyes to who Charles Manson is inside and out. He is a man of an unparalleled lack of morality. To this day he does not regret his crimes and so help us God this man is being considered for parole this year. I am proud of the piece I wrote, I believe it captures the facts and states them in a way that is understandable and easy to read. I do feel that it is one of the more comprehensive biographies I have read about Manson both online and in similar books to the one that this piece is being considered for.

I have been considering what I am going to start work on next and I have come to a conclusion that has two subjects. I could write about the Cuban Missile Crisis or I could write about John Kennedy or I could write about John Kennedy’s assassination which has always been something that has fascinated me.

I shall be sending this piece off to the publisher tomorrow and I will see what they say. Maybe on grounds I have not yet thought of they will find it to be total and utter crap at which point I will publish the piece on my blog and let my usual readers decide if they think it is total crap. If they decide that they like it and want to acquire it for the book I will make sure I mention the ISBN and title of the book once it has gone to press. I must say I prefer the latter. It would be amazing to be a published author at 20 years old. I don’t think magazines count towards that goal.

Leave a Reply

