How Much Electricity Does a PC Use?

November 12, 2006

Save EnergyIt was brought up as a question in my household today. How much electricity does your computer(s) take up? My answer was a somewhat uncertain, “ummm…not much…”

As usual Google beaconed and I happened onto this wonderful website that explains just how much power your computer is taking up at it’s various stages of operation. The author of the website explains in painstaking detail the different measurements with statements like:

Add another 80 watts for a 17″ CRT monitor, or 35 for an LCD monitor. Don’t forget related devices. My cable modem uses 7 watts, my D-Link DI-604 router uses 4.5 watts, and my Motorola phone box for use with Vonage uses 2 watts while idle (3 when I’m on the phone)”   -Click for link to site

This website does not tell you how much your pc is using, but it talks in averages and gives you a good idea. I am usually pretty good at turning my PC off during the day when I am out and at night when I am asleep. I had never thought of my Thinkpad causing much of a power drain, but as it has the same general components and a Pentium 4 2Ghz processor, maybe it does.

I went ahead and changed my power settings on both PC’s. If you are not sure how to do this go to your control panel on a Windows machine and select “Power Options.” While I have been sitting here, I heard the HDD power down in my Thinkpad and a few minutes later, the screen went down. The new power management is in effect.

The website that I found has other questions that are addressed about laptops, people talking business with multiple computers and even dispels a few myths. The old “Turning my PC on takes more energy than leaving it on” is gone.

Tell someone about PC power management, turn it off when you’re not using it and let’s save some energy.

 

One Response to “How Much Electricity Does a PC Use?”

  1. Jim Says:

    Interesting topic… I’m working in this industry myself and I don’t agree about this in 100%, but I added your page to my bookmarks and hope to see more interesting articles in the future

    Thanks
    Jim
    Sony PlayStation 3 Admirer


Leave a Reply

