Skype Responds to My Telemarketing Inquiry – Or Did They?

June 28, 2006

skypeLast week, following the telemarketing incident with my good friend Joe Klein, I attempted to contact Skype for their response; I left 2 separate messages for the media relations department at eBay, The calls were not returned. Undaunted, I attempted to use my own inside contacts to get a response, or at least some sort of inside information.

I felt it best to keep the name of the person I contacted anonymous. A short while ago, I received an email from Skype. it was not from my contact there, but, rather, from another Skype representative. As there is an ominous notice at the bottom of the message deeming the contents of the email to be “confidential” I am hesitant to release the name of the sender or the exact text of the message.

Suffice to say, I was not the least bit surprised that the message did not directly address my major concerns related to a possible telemarking plague. Rather, the text was nothing more than a “scripted” response advising me to adjust my privacy settings.

The email from the Skype rep did also contain a statement that the company may address the issue should it become more serious, but this was of little consolation to me personally.

The question still goes unanswered in my opinion. How widespread is this problem, and what are the chances of it escalating out of control?

Besides, what about those of us who don’t want to change our privacy settings and limit our incoming calls to just those on our contact list?

I don’t know about you but I’d still like to receive far more definitive and straight forward information from the powers that be at Skype.

To see my original article click HERE

Click HERE for the Digg.com Post!

 

Leave a Reply

