What is friendship, really?

June 18, 2006

Today I was in battle with one of my best friends. We stood on the bridge that is our connection as we both set it ablaze with what seemed intent to destroy the very fiber that bonds us. But when that fire was extinguished, the bridge was undamaged, and we only had minor burns. When I went to sound the bridge after the fighting stopped I discovered that some of the steel had melted together more than it had been before, the bridge was actually stronger. This to me is the true meaning of friendship.

When you can get seriously angry at each other, calm down, and then talk through things to an acceptable norm. That is friendship. Today I experienced what it is truly like to hurt and be hurt in a trench-fight that seemed to be a last man standing for a while.

Our friendship is so strong it took the fire, the heat from the hot air that spewed from our mouths and the harsh words we thrust down our respective microphones. I am proud to say that I am blessed by whatever has more power than me that I have a friendship with someone that is this strong, that it can survive and continue to function, to live.

If you have a friend, someone you care about, and I am not saying someone you know, someone you trust, implicitly, someone that you know is going to look out for you no matter what, pick up the phone and call them, or send them an email, right now, tell them you appreciate your friendship, you appreciate that they put up with your weird quirky behavior, your ups, and downs and roundabouts.. because when you examine the forensics of it, that is what friendship is. When someone accepts you as an individual, with all the baggage that comes with you.

I am not claiming to know what friendship is for everyone, for anyone, but I know that I found out what it means to me today, and I will carry it with me forever.

4 Responses to “What is friendship, really?”

  1. Liz Strauss Says:

    Seb,
    You’re a lucky guy. You’ve got a lifelong friend there. You don’t get many of them. At least that’s what I’ve found. When you’ve got one, though you know it. You know because of what you described here and because of the silent moments when you don’t have to talk at all and you still feel like you’re together. You like the person you are when you’re with a lifelong friend and the cool part is, you don’t even think about it. I’m guessing that you might never have to test the strength of that bridge again now that you’ve done it.
    It’s a gift indeed to have someone like that by your side. I’m happy for you. I have a couple of them and if they knew they’d be smiling like I am.

  2. The Rooster Says:

    🙂 must be a very good friend Sebastian…

  3. tektrekgamer Says:

    Hi Liz. Yeah, it is a pretty lucky thing to not only posess but to realise it. I am not sure if that bridge will come under fire again, we disagree all the time, but I am confident that we have built it strong enough to withstand just about anything.

    Rooster… Yeah..he is.🙂

  4. edz1624 Says:

    Yup! when friendship undergo a lot of trials and problems, thats the time to test how strong friendship can be. If it copes up with struggles then it is proven mighty and strong. Me and my girlfriend from webdatedotcom was always been tested due to our long distance and minimal communication, that only trust holds us firm. So glad we never gave up and now pleasure, happiness and time was on us.


Leave a Reply

