Ubuntu Linux supports Skype? Not today….

June 8, 2006

 Direct link to the DIGG ARTICLE.
skype

As I posted last time I entered into the blog I have dived head first into the world of Linux. I was working with Kubuntu which is KDE until last night when I decided to try the new Dapper Drake 6.06 Ubuntu which is Gnome, that was released just a few days ago. It actually installed without a hitch and I proclaimed that it was the best thing since sliced bread. The die hard Windows user that I am actually shouted out that I would abandon Windows.

All was well until I got home from College today and I had a Skype conversation with my podcasting partner and it worked just fine, I even said, "Do you think this is a good enough connection to record the podcast with on Saturday?"

A few minutes later after exiting and re-opening Skype I tried to call my linux-guru and it said ringing, and then call duration started but neither of us could hear each other. I rebooted the system, it did not fix it and then I uninstalled Skype, rebooted, and reinstalled and it still does not work.

How can an application work one moment and then just stop!? All the other sound worked the audio input and output, I have made test recordings with the sound recorder that is built into Ubuntu. The test recordings were perfect! Why wouldn't they be?! It worked just an hour ago!

I have changed nothing and I am irritated. It leaves me with these questions.

Is this a problem with my installation? the OS? Is it Skype failing us? Where do we have to go if we have a problem like this? What does this say about the maturity of Linux? Everyone is singing the praises of Ubuntu, its practically the word of the year. Shouldn't it work before we throw a brick through our Windows? (installations)

It also makes me think that it is possible that these 3rd party applications are not providing the support that they should be. Skype doesn't have these issues on Windows, therefore it is possible to make it reliable, who's got to pay and has to be paid for doing the job right for a free OS?
Comments and suggestions are welcome.

9 Responses to “Ubuntu Linux supports Skype? Not today….”

  1. VoxxMail Says:

    Ubuntu Linux supports Skype? Not today”¦.

    [Source: Seb’s Random Thoughts] quoted: A few minutes later after exiting and re-opening Skype I tried to call my linux-guru and it said ringing, and then call duration started but neither of us could hear each other. I rebooted the system, it did…

  2. jobezone Says:

    I suggest you looking into ekiga as a replacement for skype (but I’ve never used neither).

  3. tektrekgamer Says:

    Thanks but I need Skype. I use it constantly, We use it to record the podcast, I use it to communicate with my family and friends. It’s a major part of my internet life. I wish an alternative were possible, but Skype is too good not to use and I really believe it is part of the next internet generation. Thanks for the suggestion. -Sebastian

  4. The Rooster Says:

    Hey Seb

    Bummer mate. One thing that I have learned using open source software is that the support comes from the community of users, and it is usually great. Have a look on the forums and see if anyone else is having the same problems. If not then lodge a new bug report or a request for some help, I would be very supprised if noone could help you.

    The other thing is that it has been ages since an update for Skype for Linux – might have something to do with it. I admire you sticking with it.

  5. Knightwise Says:

    Skype = Owned by Ebay ..
    Ebay sell stuff for money…
    Linux people get operating systems for free
    Ebay no sell stuff to Linux People…
    Ebay no give a shit about LInux peoplel
    Ebay no support good Skype on Linux.
    Linux Good .. Ebay baaaaaaaaaaaaddd !

    I have spoken.

  6. Sachin D Says:

    I also faced some problems with Skype. But it didn’t stop working in my case. It’s woring but, with a hitch. The sound quality is poor in terms of windows version of skype.

    Moreover, I felt very bad when I downloaded the Y! Messenger for Linux. It won’t have voice chat feature at all!

    Man, can’t these companies release Linux versions of their software. I hate to switch back to Wndows just for my Yahoo! Messenger, don’t you think so?

    [Skype = Owned by Ebay ..
    Ebay sell stuff for money…
    …]

    Man, since skype is free for Windows & Linux, there is no point its generating revenue. Afterall skype can earl hell lot money by the subscription service. We are just discussing about the client.

    Peace.

  7. tektrekgamer Says:

    Thanks for the comments guys.I am actually in Windows XP this morning to test a couple of things but when I go back to Ubuntu later I will test Skype again. I don’t know why it would suddenly stop working. Maybe this post and the digg comments will help kick the sludge from Skype-Linux compatibility.

  8. Philipp Says:

    did you find out the reason for your not working skype? I had the exact same Problem

  9. Luigi Says:

    > I felt very bad when I downloaded the Y! Messenger for Linux.
    > It won’t have voice chat feature at all!

    http://gyachi.sourceforge.net/intro.shtml

    > I will test Skype again

    Have you tried, just as a test:
    killall esd
    from your teminal, just before launching skype?


Leave a Reply

