Meltdown Resolution Source

April 15, 2006

Those of you who read this blog probably read my last entry where I detailed the total failure of my PC. Specifically my Hard Drive a pretty much new 80GB Sata2 Diamondmax Maxtor Drive. This totally crippled me when I tried to start the machine and it refused to go through with getting to the Windows XP splash screen!

All was not lost, the data on the drive seemed to be intact, just it was never going to boot again. I began the process of reinstalling Windows XP Pro. I was on the Skype on my trusty Dell Latitude laptop at the time with my friend Dave Gray which you may know from the Rooster's Rail. He and I tried in vain to rescue the C: Partition with Partition Magic rescue diskettes and failed miserably when I announced that the data was shredded. Dead at approx. 5:00 PM on Wednesday.

Crippled and forced to use a 15GB ATA100 Hard Drive that I salvaged from my brothers old 600Mhz desktop, good thing I kept this Hard Drive for emergencies and to make a long story short and get to the good parts I ended up getting XP installed and up and then had to begin the horrible process of reinstalling stuff, after all the updates which took hours to complete.

My usual compliment of PC applications range from Microsoft Office 2003 specifically Outlook and Word and I have recently become disenfranchised with Microsoft and its supporters. I am sick of waiting for news about Vista just to hear that it is delayed a few more years…

I installed OpenOffice.org which does the job of the expensive, clunky and unstable MS Office 2003 with the peace of mind the developers were not after money but ease of use and satisfaction of the community at large. In addition to using OpenOffice I have installed several other applications to replace what I was using before including aMSN, WinAMP and Thunderbird Email Client. I love all this new OpenSource stuff, I feel a lot better about my day to day activities knowing the applications are rooted with people who actually care.

So now my system is running fine with a set of new 80GIG SATA2 Drives. Everything is operational and running great, security is in place as well as a new compliment of software to run my day to day business. I highly recommend dumping the branded stuff and moving to open source, in the last 2 days my PC has been running better than it has in ages and I know I have just reformatted but I think credit is due to the Open Source Community.

Leave a Reply

