Wrote to Wil Wheaton, Master of Geeks!

February 22, 2006

I wrote to Wil Wheaton today, I posted this on his weblog, which you can reach at http://wilwheaton.typepad.com/wwdnbackup/ Wil Wheaton was in Star Trek, and is now my favorite writer. I loved listening to his excerpts from his books on the GnomeDex 4.0 recordings from IT Conversations, which you can link to here http://www.itconversations.com/shows/detail220.html . Today I bought the audio of his book Just a Geek and I am listening to it still, I am quite a bit into it now. As readers of my blog know, I am a writer as well, and I get LOADS of inspiration from listening or reading other author’s books that I like, especially when the author is someone who I admire.

Dear Wil Wheaton:
I am a fellow blogger, sci-fi fan, podcaster and geek. I am listening to your audio version of, Just a Geek, and really enjoying it. I wrote to you via email several times and have received no response from you. I know understand how you must have felt when William F*cking Shatner dismissed you on the set of Star Trek V please don’t make a fan of yours feel that way towards you. I am also a writer and on the younger side at that, at 19 its hard to get people to take you seriously as you know. Would love to hear back from you.

Your fan.

Sebastian Prooth
http://tektrekgamer.blogspot.com

Wil Wheaton talks about his encounter with William Shatner, Captain Kirk, back in 1989 during the filming of Star Trek V. He talks about how Bill Shatner completely dismissed him and how Gene Roddenberry told Bill to apologise to him.

I have written to Wil Wheaton several times, twice through email and now twice on his blog. I have not heard back from him, and to be absolutely honest I am pretty upset about this. I listen to his podcast, I love his books, and I admire his perseverance as a person. I invited him to an interview with my podcast, and thought he would jump at the chance to be interviewed by me, as he always says how happy he is to be a geek with fellow geeks..

Above you can see what I wrote to Wil on his weblog today, I sure hope he replies. I don’t want this to be a William F*cking Shatner experience.

4 Responses to “Wrote to Wil Wheaton, Master of Geeks!”


  1. Hi Sebastian,

    I’m a fellow reader of WWdN:IX and I read your comments about Wil not returning your emails.

    Please try not to take it personally, he really is a cool and down-to-earth guy who appreciates his fans.

    There was a time not so long ago that he was an active participant on Teh Soapbox, but he explained to all of us that he is very busy with all of the projects that he’s involved with and just didn’t have a lot of time to personally respond to every single comment or email that he gets. I guess that’s sort of the whole point of even updating his blog as much as he possibly can, so we can all get a peek inside his life without him having to compromise his time with his family and all of the other projects that he’s involved with. An egotist, he is not, I assure you of that :-).

    Another reason why you might not be getting a response from him could be because he prefers that any emails that are sent to him are encrypted. I don’t know if you’ve tried that route or not, but there are plenty of free encryption email services you can sign up for on the web. Hushmail is probably the most popular out of all of them.

    Aside from all of that, I think that you’re doing a great job with your own blog, I browsed around a bit and I have to say, I’m quite impressed!!

    Keep on writing, and don’t sweat the small stuff. You already have the great writing skills that someone like myself can definitely appreciate and wish that they had half the talent and abilities that you have.

    Take Care & Keep up the good work,

    Danyiel


  2. Danyiel:

    Thanks for posting to the blog and for replying to my post on WWDN:IX!

    Your blogspot account has no email address so I have no way to send you a response through email.

    I understand Wil is busy and everything, I’m busy as well, we all are. I have so many projects going right now, I can safley say I don’t think I had done anythign worth while for any of them because I am just sitting here and thinking about it.

    I also wanted to thank you for the compliments, I really apreciate the fact that you liek the blog and hope that you will come back and maybe even subscribe to it.

    I do love to write, especailyl whhen I feel what I am writing is helping people understand me, or something I am involved in more.

    Any further contributions to the blog by yourself are extremly welcome and I am going to your blog right now to post this message.

    Thanks for being someone cool enough to trun around and reply to my post, I couldn’t be happier to had heard from you.

    -Sebastian Prooth


  3. Don’t mention it, Sebastian, I genuinely think that you are a talented writer, not to mention very ambitious and enthusiastic in all of your very interesting endeavors!

    I have to warn you ahead of time, though, my blog is definitely not impressive by any stretch of the imagination at all!

    It’s not Wheaton worthy, or even Prooth worthy, for that matter, so prepare to be very annoyed and disappointed if you decide to read the drivel that I write about…LOL.

    Oh, and as for my email address, it’s almost the same as my handle on Blogspot, DisasterPiece73@gmail.com.

    Feel free to comment on mine anytime, and I will definitely be reading yours.

    I’m kind of glad you wrote that rant about Wheaton now, because now I have even more interesting reading material besides WWdN:IX.

  4. Lunchbox Says:

    This post has been removed by a blog administrator.


Leave a Reply

